Books, Uncategorized

Book Review – Once Upon A Dream by Liz Braswell

Hey guys!

Have you ever wondered what could happen in a fairy tale? Like, not just the normal story? For example: What if Belle’s mother turned the prince into the beast? What if the sleeping beauty never woke up? Well, Disney made it happen. Liz Braswell created a series called A Twisted Tale, which actually addresses these types of questions. For Sleeping Beauty, Aladdin, The Little Mermaid, and Beauty and the Beast.  I took a shot at one of the tales, and grabbed Once Upon A Dream. Before reading this, I will be honest and say I looked at Goodreads for the star rating on this book, which was a 3/5. I didn’t let that bother me or lead me in thinking this book would be bad, because I think despite the ratings, one should read what they want to read.

The story basically begins off in what would normally start off as the fairy tale Sleeping Beauty. The handsome prince slays a dragon to save a princess. BUT, it takes a turn. Aurora lives in a castle with Maleficent, the Queen. Wasn’t King Stefan and Queen Leah rule? Yes. So ask yourself, why is Maleficent ruling then? A princess’s journey to make everything the way it was before is the mission. Through the forest where she spent sixteen years growing up with the three fairies and to unknown places, Aurora finds not only herself, but so much more from outside the walls of the castle.

So what did I think of it?

I thought it was an okay story. Some parts were intriguing, and others made me wonder why in the world is this being written. Brutal, I know. I am all for an alternative ending to a story, but the way the author wrote this, it felt more like an modernization of a story that shouldn’t need to be modernized, ya know? I am sure the other stories in this series are good, and if I were in a younger age group reading this, I would enjoy it a little more. Maybe I am just old-fashioned. I don’t know.

I wouldn’t say I hated the book, but I wouldn’t say I loved it either. Normally, I would do my usual rating of it, but I think just by saying I’m impartial to it, basically sums it up right there.

Tell me your thoughts!

Did you enjoy any of the other Liz Braswell novels from this series? Which one did you like the most?

 

Leave a Reply

