Television, Uncategorized

Best Of…2016

befunkyphoto
Photo Credit: It’s Jon Thompson (Tumblr)

It’s here, guys. The end of 2016. For film, writing, and television, it’s been a bumpy road. With the loss of such iconic stars in our lives, we try to start another year fresh, in hopes that 2017 does not take as many creative people.

This post, I thought I would kind of recap what I have watched on the big screen and the small screen, as well as what I have read on my own this year- listing a couple items in each category- because if I listed more than that, we would be reading for a while. 🙂

Books:
The Cellar by Natasha Preston- This novel was one that threw me for a loop. It is about a sixteen year old girl named Summer who goes missing, and throws a curve for her family and boyfriend on her whereabouts. The police launch an investigation, search parties are scoping the area around her hometown to look for clues as to where she may have gone or what happened to her. The hope seems to fade, but not the hope of her family and her boyfriend.
Colin, is a young man, who has been scarred by an abusive and traumatic past. Vying for the perfect family, he turns to intense measures to find that perfect balance of family and love.
Basic Rating: 4.5/5

Inferno by Dan Brown – Written by the author of Angels & Demons and The DaVinci Code, Robert Langdon returns to solve another mystery in Europe. Focusing around Dante’s Inferno, Langdon must stop an individual from altering the world before it is too late through the poem of Inferno.
This was made into a film, like the other 2 books were. While I have not seen the movie, I enjoyed this book. It has to be up there with The DaVinci Code– not only going through a thrilling mystery, but also learning Italian history in the process.
Basic Rating: 4/5

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica – If you are in to Gillian Flynn-type of novels, this one is for you. It is kind of around the writing of Gone Girl, but twisted differently (if that makes sense). Mia Dennett enters a bar to meet her on/off boyfriend, but when he is a no-show, she meets a kind stranger. She leaves with him, but is this a good or bad decision? When Mia is taken to a secluded cabin, an investigation is opened to find her whereabouts, but the emotional roller-coaster that is about to begin leads the reader through a wave of thrills and suspense.
Basic Rating: 4.5/5

TV Shows:

Life In Pieces (CBS) – This show started out in 2015, but I feel like since I didn’t start this blog until 2016, that I would add them to this. Season 2 started this year for the new CBS comedy. Life In Pieces are 4 short stories that tie together following the Short family. With some of the best improv and scripting I have ever seen on a comedy series, I fell in love with the family AND the show. It is a must see! Thursday nights on CBS.
Basic Rating: 5/5

Westworld (HBO) – I’m going to be honest with this one, I have only gotten through 3 episodes of this so far, but I am hooked. Westworld is based off of the film that Yul Brener stared in in 1973. Now I don’t know too much about it right now, but I love how this series is set up. Each episode shows bits and pieces of what is happening within the themepark of Westworld. This show has been nominated for awards (as most HBO series do).
Basic Rating: 4/5

The Crown (Netflix) – Each one of us has this slight obsession with the Royal Family. Netflix series, The Crown, shows the timeline of Queen Elizabeth II and how she came to be the Queen, and shows inside her personal life. I am halfway through this season, and I hope that Netflix plans on doing these types of series with not only the United Kingdom’s royalty, but other countries as well.
Basic Rating: 5/5

Film:

Moana – I published a post on this amazing Disney film, which I will link to this thread. You can read my thoughts there.
Basic Rating: 5/5

Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Yes, this movie was released in 1961, but I didn’t say that all the films I was going to talk about were just from 2016. So, here it is- a classic. Audrey Hepburn and George Peppard star in this quirky and a somewhat hot mess of a film. Audrey plays an aspiring socialite who becomes very interested in a young man who move into her apartment building, Paul Varjak (George Peppard). There’s no way to explain this any other way, but it is a must see if you are in to older films.
Basic Rating: 4/5

Well, there ya have it. The faves of 2016 that really stuck out to me.

What were your favorites of 2016? Anything you are looking forward to in 2017?

Leave a Reply

