Books

“The Thorn Birds” by Colleen McCullough Review

*This post got lost in my sea of ideas. I had read this book back in March 2016. Below are my thoughts on the novel.*

thornbirds
Earlier this week, I pushed through the last 40 pages of The Thorns Birds by Colleen McCullough.

In this novel, a young girl, Meggie, and her family move from New Zealand to Australia to work on her aunt’s land of Drogheda. She meets a priest, named Ralph, who takes a liking to young Meggie. Basically, it follows their relationship throughout many years. One filled with secrets, drama, and a forbidden love. That’s all I’m going to give you of the storyline. Like I said, I’m not going to go into themes, signs, and all of that. I am not here to tell you what things mean in this book, because I think that’s each person’s opinion.

The only downfall to the book, is that I am not a fan of, for example, a fifty page chapter. I mean, on a good note, it gives me a goal of finishing a chapter or that size, so that’s the only way I can get through it. Also, the ‘parts’ in the book, as the author cuts up the book to designated years, she does so by naming the parts after characters. I still haven’t figured out why, since all of the chapters pertain to a multitude of characters.

I spoke with my father who has seen the miniseries that was released by ABC in the 80’s, starring Richard Chamberlain and Rachel Ward. From what I shared with him from the novel, the miniseries ties in well with the book’s take on things. Obviously, there are a couple parts that were changed for emotional and theatrical purposes in the series, but it all makes sense with the book. So that is a BIG plus for me. (I literally have a bookmark that says “Don’t Judge A Book By It’s Movie,” and I stand by that)

So with that being said, I give this book 5 stars. For the flow of the novel, the comparison to the miniseries, and for allowing me to get through almost 700 pages of reading in under a month. I work full-time for a day job, so reading that many pages in less than 30 days is a miracle.

Feel free to post below with your thoughts on this novel. If you do begin to discuss portions of the book, and it is a spoiler, please use a disclaimer at the top of your comment.

Leave a Reply

